5. Tesseract

In geometry, the tesseract is the four-dimensional analog of the cube.

Hypercube is composed of:

8 Cells (or Cubes),  24 Faces,  32 Edges  and  16 Vertices

and it meets the extension of Euler's formula:   

Faces + Vertices = Cells + Edges       

There may be different types of representations; such as this where all edges have the same length:


Or a central projection:


In four dimensions, the hypercube is also called tesseract (from the greek τέσσερις ακτίνες or "four beams").
A famous example of a tesseract is the Arch of La Défense, a monument located in the modern district of La Défense in Paris. The official name in French is Grande Arche de la Fraternité.





No comments :

Post a Comment